Aug
29
6:30 PM18:30

Laura Jane Williams and Beth O'Leary in conversation, Birmingham

Two of contemporary fiction's must-read writers, Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop, and Beth O'Leary, author of The Flatshare, join us for a discussion of their feel-good new work.

Laura Jane Williams is a former dating guru for Grazia and current columnist for Red magazine. She is the author of two non-fiction books, which she wrote before her first novel was published this year.

Our Stop is a milennial love story which is both heart-warming and relatable. Dubbed as the perfect fiction read for fans of Elizabeth Day and Dolly Alderton, this invigorating chase follows the antics of Nadia and Daniel, as they each search for the true love they crave. They both take the 7.30 train to work each morning (unless Nadia oversleeps, of course), barely realising or noting the coincidence, until Daniel writes an ad which is printed in the love column of the daily newspaper, beginning a not-quite-romance of near-misses, tingling suspense and hope.

'The love story you need in your suitcase this summer.'- Red

Beth O'Leary is a writer from the south of England, who formerly worked in children's publishing.

The Flat Share is a riveting, funny look at the lives of Tiffy Moore and Leon Twomey; strangers conjoined by the fact Tiffy needs a cheap flat, and Leon works nights, and needs extra cash. While Tiffy occupies Leon's one-bed flat while he's at work, obsessive boyfriends, demanding clients and the small fact that they haven't actually met yet pose problem after problem after problem.


'Deliciously funny and uplifting.'- Lucy Diamond

BUY TICKETS

View Event →
Aug
20
6:30 PM18:30

Laura Jane Williams and Lucy Vine in Conversation, Leeds

Join us for an incredible evening with two of contemporary fiction's must-read writers as they discuss their new books and take on all things love, romance, friendship and beyond!

Laura Jane Williams is a former dating guru for Grazia and current columnist for Redmagazine. She is the author of two non-fiction books, which she wrote before her first novel was published this year.

Our Stop is a milennial love story which is both heart-warming and relatable. Dubbed as the perfect fiction read for fans of Elizabeth Day and Dolly Alderton, this invigorating chase follows the antics of Nadia and Daniel, as they each search for the true love they crave. They both take the 7.30 train to work each morning (unless Nadia oversleeps, of course), barely realising or noting the coincidence, until Daniel writes an ad which is printed in the love column of the daily newspaper, beginning a not-quite-romance of near-misses, tingling suspense and hope.

Lucy Vine is a freelance journalist based in London, who regularly writes and edits for the likes of Grazia, Heat, Cosmo, Stylist and Marie Claire. She also writes a weekly newsy column for Grazia Daily. Her debut novel Hot Mess was an eBook Number One bestseller.

Are We Nearly There Yet? is the summer book you've been waiting for. Alice is turning thirty and is stuck in a rut. Her friends are all coupling up and settling down, while she’s still working as a temp, trying (and failing) not to shag her terrible ex, getting thrown out of clubs, and accidentally sexting her boss… She decides to throw caution to the wind and jets off on a round-the-world adventure to #FindTheFun and find herself. Of course, she’s no more likely to find the answer to true happiness on the beach in Thailand than she is at the electric beach in Tooting, but at least in Thailand there’s paddleboard yoga. Can Alice find happiness on her travels? Or is she more likely to lose herself all over again…?


BUY TICKETS

View Event →
Aug
14
6:30 PM18:30

An Evening with Laura Jane Williams and Rosie Walsh, London

Two of contemporary fiction's must-read writers and former dating columnists with witty, modern takes on love and romance will be joining us for an event on Wednesday 14 August, where they will be discussing all things love, romance, friendship and beyond!

Our Stop is a milennial love story which is both heart-warming and relatable. Dubbed as the perfect fiction read for fans of Elizabeth Day and Dolly Alderton, this invigorating chase follows the antics of Nadia and Daniel, as they each search for the true love they crave. They both take the 7.30 train to work each morning (unless Nadia oversleeps, of course), barely realising or noting the coincidence, until Daniel writes an ad which is printed in the love column of the daily newspaper, beginning a not-quite-romance of near-misses, tingling suspense and hope.

Laura Jane Williams is a former dating guru for Grazia and current columnist for Red magazine. She is the author of two non-fiction books, which she wrote before her first novel was published this year.

The Man Who Didn't Call by Rosie Walsh is a beautifully written love story with a dark secret at its heart. Imagine you meet a man, spend a glorious week together, and fall in love. And it’s mutual: you’ve never been so certain of anything. So when he leaves for a long-booked holiday and promises to call from the airport, you have no cause to doubt him. But he doesn’t call.

Your friends tell you to forget him, but you know they're wrong: something must have happened; there must be a reason for his silence.What do you do when you finally discover you're right? That there is a reason -- and that reason is the one thing you didn't share with each other? The truth.

Rosie Walsh has lived and travelled all over the world, working as a documentary producer and writer. She lives in Bristol with her partner and son.

BUY TICKETS

View Event →
Aug
13
6:00 PM18:00

Laura Jane Williams and Beth O'Leary in Conversation, Manchester (SOLD OUT)

  • Waterstone's Manchester - Deansgate (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS

Two of contemporary fiction's must-read writers join us for a discussion of their feel-good new work.

Laura Jane Williams is a former dating guru for Grazia and current columnist for Red magazine. She is the author of two non-fiction books, which she wrote before her first novel was published this year. 

Our Stop 
is a milennial love story which is both heart-warming and relatable. Dubbed as the perfect fiction read for fans of Elizabeth Day and Dolly Alderton, this invigorating chase follows the antics of Nadia and Daniel, as they each search for the true love they crave. They both take the 7.30 train to work each morning (unless Nadia oversleeps, of course), barely realising or noting the coincidence, until Daniel writes an ad which is printed in the love column of the daily newspaper, beginning a not-quite-romance of near-misses, tingling suspense and hope.

              'The love story you need in your suitcase this summer.'- Red

Beth O'Leary is a writer from the south of England, who formerly worked in children's publishing.

The Flat Share is a riveting, funny look at the lives of Tiffy Moore and Leon Twomey; strangers conjoined by the fact Tiffy needs a cheap flat, and Leon works nights, and needs extra cash. While Tiffy occupies Leon's one-bed flat while he's at work, obsessive boyfriends, demanding clients and the small fact that they haven't actually met yet pose problem after problem after problem

'Deliciously funny and uplifting.'- Lucy Diamond


Ticket purchases will be redeemable against a book buy on the night.

BUY TICKETS

View Event →
Aug
10
6:00 PM18:00

Real Talk Live with Nicole Antoinette, London (SOLD OUT)

Real Talk: Live combines the honesty and truth-telling of Real Talk Radio with the fun and warmth of an intimate weekend coffee date with your favorite friends.

This event is part interactive interview (featuring a past guest from the show) and part real talk roundtable discussion.

Should you come? Let's see:

Real Talk: Live will be a great experience for you if...

  • You find yourself listening to Real Talk Radio and wishing you could join the conversations.

  • You've been craving more openness, honesty, laughter, & connection in your life.

  • You'd love to do some real talk in real time.

  • You want to be surrounded by a group of kind, supportive people who will let you know that no matter what, you are not alone.

If that sounds like fun, here's a peek at how we'll spend our time together:

1:00 - 1:30pm Hello & welcome! Coffee, tea, delicious vegan treats, introductions, chatting about our current obsessions, becoming BFFs, etc.

1:30 - 2:45pm Live interview and Q&A. You'll be part of a small audience as Nicole interviews and chats with a featured guest, after which you'll have a chance to do something the regular podcast doesn't allow: ask your own questions of both the guest and Nicole, where no topic is off-limits!

2:45 - 3:00pm Break. Take a walk, stretch, call your mom, hug one of your new friends.

3:00 - 5:00pm Real Talk Roundtable. Here's where it gets reallllly good. Nicole will lead our small group through a series of fun writing prompts and discussion questions, all geared toward an environment of safe, comfortable story-sharing that will allow us all to come together to talk about the truth of what's really going on in our lives. Ask yourself: What's one thing you wish more people were open and honest about? Whatever it is, don't worry, I'm ready to dig into it with you!

MORE INFORMATION

View Event →
#OurStop Reader Launch Party, London (SOLD OUT)
Aug
8
6:00 PM18:00

#OurStop Reader Launch Party, London (SOLD OUT)

Join us to celebrate the launch of Laura Jane Williams' debut novel, OUR STOP, at Twitter HQ, London!

Laura will be in conversation with The Independent's Lifestyle Editor Harriet Hall, with a Q&A session and book signing afterwards. Books will be available to buy on the night.

The evening is a chance to celebrate the book, and talk about love, writing, being a cynic with hope, as well as the inspiration for emotionally-healthy protagonist Daniel, the third character that is London, and the hidden themes of the book. It's not just a love story!

There will also be:

- Bubbles or a non-alcoholic alternative on arrival (it's a party, after all)

- Wine and soft drinks all evening (stay hydrated, yo')

- Slider bar with plenty of veggie, vegan and GF options (we gotchu)

- A beautiful goody bag (nobody leaves empty-handed)

- A room of wonderful humans (not to scare you, but you should really talk to each other. You might make a friend!)

The event is fully accessible, and tickets are limited to two per person. The exact address of the event will be sent privately to attendees with their confirmation email, as per Twitter's guidelines.

We can't wait to see you there!

TICKETS HERE

View Event →